INEC delclares Tinubu winner of presidential election

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu
Ruling party candidate, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has been declared winner of the Saturday, March 25, 2023 presidential election.
After a tension-soaked wait, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), this morning(March 1st), declared the APC presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Party as winner.

At exactly 4:10a.m., INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, announced Tinubu winner. He will collect his certificate of return at 3:00p.m. later today.

Tinubu finished with 8,794,726, nearly two million more votes than his fiercest challengers, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 6,984,520 and Labour Party (LP)’s Peter Obi, who got 6,101,533. The total votes cast was 24,965,218, out of which 939,278 were rejected votes.

The drama before the announcement got intense, yesterday, with more protests trailing the conduct of the election.

Undaunted by the criticisms, INEC resumed collation of results at the national collation centre in Abuja, releasing the remaining states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

With the latest count, Atiku won 12 states, Tinubu also won 12 states and Labour Party (LP)’s Peter Obi got 11 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Related posts