Speaker, all principal officers sacked in Benue House of assembly

In a majority decision by 22 out of 30 members of t Benue State House of Assembly, Speaker of the House, Mr. Terkimbi Ikyange and all principal officers of the House were, yesterday removed from office. They were sacked at an emergency sitting of the House presided over by a Speaker Pro-tempore, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and former Minority Leader Mr. Sule Audu, representing Agatu state constituency.
Moving the motion for the removal of the principal officers, Richard Ujege of Konshisha state constituency, accused the removed Speaker of high-handedness. His motion was seconded by Anthony Ogbu of Ado state constituency. The lawmakers thereafter elected Mr. Titus Uba of the All Progressives Congress, APC, representing Kyan state constituency as the new Speaker of the 8th Assembly following his nomination by the member representing Otukpo/Akpa state constituency, Mr. Egli Ahubi of the PDP and seconded by Mr. Steven Tyochir representing Gwer East State Constituency. The House also elected Egli Ahubi of the PDP as Deputy Speaker following his nomination by Mr. Joseph Ojobo also of the PDP representing Ogbadibo state constituency and seconded by his counterpart from Makurdi North, Mr. Avine Agbom. Other principal officers elected by members include Kester Kyenge of the PDP who was elected the Chief Whip. Mr. Avine Agbom who earlier defected from APC to PDP emerged the Majority Leader. The Speaker and his deputy were immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the House, Dr. Torese Agena. In his acceptance speech, Mr. Titus Uba thanked members for finding him worthy to serve in the capacity and promised exemplary leadership at the 8th Assembly. The House later adjourned sitting till August 15 following a motion moved by Mr. Paul Biam of the PDP and seconded by Damian Cheme representing Ukum and Gwer West state constituencies respectively.

Related posts