INEC delists 74 political parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC said it has deleted 74 political parties, and that only 18 political parties survived, including one registered after the elections and another that obtained a court order to avoid de-registration.

INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu
Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman, announced that the commission decided to re-register 74 of them.

Yakubu said the affected parties failed to meet the criteria provided for by section 225A of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

The conditions, according to the said section, include: “breach of any of the requirements for registration as a party, failure to win at least 25 percent of the votes cast in one state in a presidential election or 25 percent of the votes cast in one local government area, and failure to win at least one ward in a Chairmanship election, one seat in the national or state assembly election or one seat in a councilorship election.”

Related posts