Gtbank Ogun Principals Cup: Alamuwa, Muslim schools win

This year’s GTBank Ogun State Principals Cup Season Six has seen Alamuwa Grammar School, Ado Odo, Ota and Muslim High School, Isolu emerge winners in the boys and girls’ categories at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta, Ogun State.
In the boys’ category, favourite, Pakoto High School, Ifo lost 4-5 on penalties to Alamuwa School after the match had ended 1-1 in regulation time. The game, which was evenly matched, saw both teams creating chances with Alamuwa missing several scoring opportunities before Ojurogbe Afeez put the underdogs ahead to lead his school until the end of the first half.
Pakoto, however, came back smoking in the second half to redeem their status and scored through Gbadamosi Segun with less than five minutes to the end of the match to deny Alamuwa easy access to the trophy. At 1-1, the match eventually went into penalties and Alamuwa triumphed at the end of the spot kicks to lift the trophy presented to the school by the Ogun State Governor, Kunle Amosun, with the support of the GTBank’s Managing Director, Segun Agbaje.
Earlier, Muslim School had demolished Ajogbo High School, Ota 4-0 to win the girls’ cadre of the championship. While Alamuwa’s Ogunro Toheed won the prize of the most valuable player in the match for the boys’ class, Kemi Soyinka won the prize in the girls’ cadre.For their efforts, the champions, Alamuwa and Muslim school won the top prize of N1 million and a trophy each, while the first runners up got N750, 000 in both categories. The third and fourth placed schools in the boys and girls groups were both given a cheque of N500,000 and N250,000 respectively.

Related posts